Dagster
Ownership change
On 2026-07-13 Prefect announced it is acquiring Dagster Labs, including the Dagster product, codebase, customer relationships and many team members (joint letter signed by Dagster CEO Pete Hunt, Nick Schrock and Prefect CEO Jeremiah Lowin). Dagster OSS keeps its licence and name and Dagster+ stays a supported commercial offering. The dagster.io page says the combined company is expected to operate under the Prefect name beginning in August 2026 after the close; dagster.io still shows the banner “Dagster is now part of Prefect” on 2026-10-08 and no close announcement was found. See dagster-labs.
What it is
An open-source, asset-centric data orchestrator: you declare data assets (tables, files, models) in Python, Dagster tracks dependencies, lineage, partitions and freshness, and runs them. Docs: “a data orchestrator built for data engineers, with integrated lineage, observability, a declarative programming model, and best-in-class testability”.
Maker, ownership and history
Created by Nick Schrock; GitHub repo dates from 2018-04 (Prefect’s announcement says both companies were founded in 2018). Company: Dagster Labs (earlier Elementl; Elementl announced a USD 33M Series B led by Georgian on a page dated 2023-05-24), now being acquired by Prefect (announced 2026-07-13; the founder letter says about 40 Dagster staff join Prefect; closing status not stated).
Editions and deployment
Dagster open source (Apache-2.0; latest 1.13.25, 2026-10-01 on PyPI) and Dagster+ (managed): plans Solo, Starter and Pro, credit billing (asset materializations plus ops), serverless or hybrid deployments (customer-run agent), 30-day trial. Pricing: https://dagster.io/pricing
Core architecture
Software-defined assets, resources, sensors/schedules, declarative automation, partitions, asset checks; components and dg CLI for project scaffolding. Metadata store plus webserver and daemon; user code runs in code locations.
Role in an enterprise AI rollout
Orchestrates the data products that AI consumes: asset lineage shows which dataset feeds which embeddings index or feature table, asset checks gate quality, freshness policies express SLAs. See data-pipelines-for-ai.
AI features as of October 2026
Prefect’s acquisition banner points users interested in “agentic orchestration or MCPs” to Prefect. Dagster-specific items opened 2026-10-08: a Dagster+ MCP server, stated as beta and Dagster+ only, with US and EU endpoints and OAuth (prefect.io/agents/dagster; its tools can change deployment state, so review actions); public “Dagster skills” for coding agents; Compass, AI data analysis in Slack, announced available 2025-11-13 (Dagster blog); and an AI-Driven Data Engineering course in Dagster University (2026-03-05). Tier limits other than Dagster+ for MCP are not stated.
Integrations
dbt, Fivetran, Airbyte, Snowflake, Databricks, Spark, Iceberg; peers apache-airflow, Prefect, kestra. Data-focused teams use Dagster for assets and lineage.
Strengths and weaknesses (opinion)
Strong: asset model, lineage, testability, local dev. Weak: smaller community than Airflow; roadmap and leadership uncertainty during the Prefect integration.
Self-learning
- Docs: https://dagster.io/docs (free)
- Dagster University: https://courses.dagster.io/ (page loads; free courses per vendor, not verified)
- Blog: https://dagster.io/blog
Sources (fetched 2026-10-07)
- https://dagster.io/blog ; https://dagster.io/blog/prefect-is-acquiring-dagster ; https://dagster.io/pricing ; https://dagster.io/docs
- Second pass (2026-10-08): https://dagster.io/prefect ; https://www.prefect.io/prefect-acquires-dagster ; https://www.prefect.io/prefect-dagster-faq ; https://www.prefect.io/agents/dagster ; https://dagster.io/blog/compass-now-available ; https://dagster.io/blog/announcing-ai-driven-data-engineering ; https://dagster.io/blog/elementl-series-b
- PyPI and GitHub API (dagster-io/dagster)
Open items
- Deal terms and whether the transaction has closed (expected rebrand under the Prefect name from August 2026, not confirmed on pages opened); Dagster Labs total funding and the Series B date (only the date shown on the Elementl page, 2023-05-24, is cited).