Palantir Foundry and AIP

What it is

Foundry is Palantir’s commercial data-integration and operations platform. Its distinctive layer is the Ontology, which Palantir’s docs call “an operational layer for the organization” sitting on top of integrated datasets and connecting them to real-world entities. AIP (Artificial Intelligence Platform) is the AI layer that connects LLMs and agents to that data and to operational actions. Palantir’s docs describe AIP as working alongside Foundry and Apollo. Maker: Palantir Technologies.

Maker and history

  • Palantir was founded in 2003 (10-K, primary) to serve the US intelligence community; its 10-K lists four principal platforms: Gotham, Foundry, Apollo and AIP. See Palantir for company facts.
  • AIP: the FY2023 10-K says AIP bootcamps were introduced in 2023; the exact AIP launch month is not stated in the filings read (see Open items).
  • Renaming (primary, AIP docs): AIP Chatbot Studio is the new name of AIP Agent Studio.

Editions and deployment

  • Closed-source, commercial, sold by contract; no public price list (so none recorded here). Palantir markets pages (palantir.com/platforms) were not fetchable; the docs are.
  • Deployment: Palantir-hosted SaaS, customer cloud, and restricted environments. Apollo is Palantir’s continuous delivery/deployment platform, documented as supporting multiple environments including air-gapped ones, with release channels and change governance (docs.palantir.com Apollo overview, fetched 2026-10-07).
  • Classified clouds: on 2024-08-08 Microsoft announced Palantir would deploy Foundry, Gotham, Apollo and AIP in Azure Government environments including Secret and Top Secret clouds, with Azure OpenAI in classified settings (Microsoft news release, re-opened 2026-10-08: Secret is DoD Impact Level 6; the release also states Palantir Federal Cloud Service is authorized for IL5 on Azure).

Core architecture

  • Data integration: connectors, pipelines, Python transforms; virtual tables with compute pushdown for Databricks are documented (Foundry docs, Databricks connector page).
  • Ontology (Foundry docs, “Core concepts”): object types (schema for an entity or event; objects are instances, similar to dataset rows), link types (relationships between object types), properties, action types (a set of edits to objects, property values and links a user can submit at once, with side effects), functions (code logic taking objects and object sets as input, usable in actions and apps), interfaces (polymorphism across object types), shared properties, roles for permissions, Object Views.
  • Writeback: actions are the governed way operational apps change ontology data. This is the key difference from read-only semantic layers (see comparison).
  • Applications: Workshop, Slate, Carbon; analysis in Contour, Quiver, Code Workbook (docs overview).

Role in an enterprise AI rollout

Gives agents typed business objects, relationships and permissioned actions instead of raw tables, so an LLM can read context and propose or execute governed changes. Fits the “context plus action” half of the picture in data readiness.

AI features (AIP docs, fetched 2026-10-07; GA/preview status not stated on the pages read)

  • AIP Logic: builds production-ready AI workflows.
  • AIP Chatbot Studio (formerly Agent Studio): builds AI agents and functions.
  • AIP Evals: evaluation of AI systems.
  • AIP Assist: LLM-powered help in the platform.
  • Audit trails, explanations and evaluations are stressed for trust. The Foundry docs home page lists Model Studio (no-code model training and deployment) and Flow Capture (record workflows, auto-generate documentation) in its product spotlight.
  • Deployment motion: Palantir runs AIP bootcamps (introduced 2023 per the FY2023 10-K) that deliver workflows on actual customer data “in days”; the Microsoft release also announces bootcamps for defense and intelligence staff.

Integrations

  • Databricks: Foundry has a Databricks connector and compute pushdown for virtual tables (primary docs). A strategic product partnership was announced 2025-03-13 (joint press release): AIP and the Ontology combined with the Databricks Data + AI Platform, integrating Unity Catalog via Delta Sharing; customers named include US DoD, Treasury, HHS and bp. See Databricks.
  • Microsoft: classified-cloud partnership above; see Microsoft.
  • Ontology interop: unlike Fabric IQ, no RDF/OWL import was verified for Foundry.

Strengths and weaknesses (opinion, marked)

  • Strength (opinion): ontology plus actions plus permissions in one product; strong in defense and operations-heavy industries.
  • Weakness (opinion): proprietary lock-in, vendor-led delivery model, no transparent pricing.

Self-learning

Sources

All fetched 2026-10-07.

Open items

  • AIP launch month (April 2023 per Wikipedia) not confirmed by a primary page; Gotham release year not asserted.
  • Classified accreditation beyond what the Microsoft release states (FedRAMP etc.) not verified.
  • AIP feature GA/preview status; AIP Logic details page returned 404; Palantir marketing pages are JS shells and not fetchable.