Hark

Consumer personal AI assistant from Hark Labs, Inc. The company says it is “building the most personal, human-like intelligence in the world”, and the app is described by its App Store listing as “an operating system for your life”. (Vendor wording.)

What it is

Hark Pro is a chat-first assistant for everyday tasks (food orders, reservations, email, scheduling, documents) with persistent memory and a cloud computer-use agent called Hark Handoff. It runs in the browser and as iOS and Android apps. The manifesto says the company’s longer-term plan is its own multimodal models and “a series of bespoke native hardware devices and agentic computers” (vendor statement of intent; no device is announced on the pages read).

Maker and timeline

  • Company: Hark Labs, Inc., 4000 N First St, San Jose, CA (privacy policy, last updated 2026-10-01). App Store developer: Hark Labs Inc.
  • Founder: the product pages name no founder. Wikipedia (secondary) says Brett Adcock, who also founded Figure AI (figure-ai), Archer Aviation and Vettery, founded Hark in 2025, working on AI models and AI hardware devices.
  • Funding: Hark’s news page lists “Hark announces 6 billion valuation comes from Wikipedia only.
  • News items on hark.com/articles (titles and dates only): Hark Handoff introduced (2026-08-05); partnership with AT&T on connectivity for future AI devices (2026-08-20); multi-year partnership with NVIDIA “supported by Gigawatt-Scale Compute” (2026-08-27); “Introducing Hark Pro” (2026-10-06).
  • App Store: the iOS listing “Hark Pro” shows a first release on “September 17” (year not shown on the page read), version 2.2.0 at the time of reading, iOS 17.6 or later, rated 4.9 from 74 ratings (point-in-time, store figures).

Features (vendor-described)

  • Chat with persistent memory, plus Projects (topic threads for things like a trip or job search).
  • Hark Handoff: “a computer in the cloud, operated by Hark. It can sign into websites for you and take actions (like buying things and filling out web forms) on your behalf.” The help page says you start it by asking, and that it works on “thousands of sites”.
  • Services: direct API connections, for example Google Workspace and Microsoft 365; the App Store listing also names Slack and Google Docs.
  • Home with Action Buttons (suggested one-tap actions such as paying a bill or cancelling a subscription) and Panels (custom mini-apps built by asking Hark).
  • Scheduled tasks and proactive suggestions.

Plans

Plan names from hark.com/pricing: Hark Pro (free), Hark Pro² (2x the usage) and Hark Pro³ (10x the usage). The page says all features are in all plans and upgrading raises usage. The App Store lists Pro², Pro³ and a Pro⁴ in-app purchase. Amounts are not recorded here; see the vendor pricing page.

Security and privacy claims (vendor)

  • The site says “We never sell it. We never advertise with it. You can always delete it.”, that sensitive data such as passwords and card numbers is tokenized and held in a “vault”, and that models used from “vetted third parties have 0 data retention”.
  • The homepage claims end-to-end encryption; the security page read does not say where keys are held.
  • The privacy policy states Hark does not use inputs, outputs, memory, connected-account data or sandbox data to train AI models, that third-party AI providers are under agreements prohibiting training use (providers not named), that service data is retained for the account lifetime, biometric-derived data for up to two years, and backups are deleted within 90 days.
  • The security page links to trust.hark.com for compliance and GDPR material (not read).

How it compares

Hark sits with consumer assistants that act on the web through computer use, similar in intent to perplexity-computer, while open-source assistants such as openclaw and openhuman run on the user’s own machine. Hark is a hosted service operated by one company. In this note’s view (opinion) the differentiators to watch are the cloud-operated Handoff agent and the planned hardware; neither has independent reviews yet. Background: ai-agents, computer-use-agents.

Open items

  • Launch dates: the site news says “Introducing Hark Pro” on 2026-10-06, while the App Store shows a first release on September 17 (year not shown); how these relate (soft launch, earlier build) is not stated.
  • The founder and the $6 billion valuation rest on Wikipedia; Hark’s own pages do not name the founder.
  • Which AI model providers are used is not disclosed; encryption model and key custody are not stated; trust.hark.com was not read.
  • No independent reviews, security audits or benchmarks of Handoff were found.
  • The NVIDIA and AT&T partnerships are known only from their news titles.

Sources (checked 2026-10-08)