Obot

What it is

Obot is an open-source platform for organisations to manage, secure and govern their AI ecosystem: MCP and LLM gateways, hosted (sandboxed) MCP servers and agents, MCP and skills registries, identity and access control, and audit logs (repo README, read 2026-10-08).

Maker and licence

Obot AI, repo obot-platform/obot, MIT licence. 1,096 stars on 2026-10-08; latest release v0.26.3 (2026-10-08) per GitHub API. Website https://obot.ai.

Position

Registry plus gateway plus hosting: broader than a pure MCP proxy.

Core capabilities (README)

  • MCP Gateway: proxy servers hosted by Obot or elsewhere; composite servers exposing selected tools from several servers; access by user or identity-provider group; MCP OAuth and credential handling; request/response filters (MCP or webhook).
  • LLM Gateway: provider-compatible endpoints for OpenAI, Anthropic, Amazon Bedrock, Azure and generic Responses-compatible providers; provider keys stay in Obot; scoped API keys; model access policies; token and estimated-cost records.
  • Hosting: npx, uvx and containerised MCP servers as Docker containers or Kubernetes workloads, with domain-based egress rules via a network-policy provider; hosted agents.
  • Registries: MCP and Skills catalogs from Git-backed repositories, exposed through the standard MCP Registry API.
  • Obot CLI and Obot Sentry: device-side scanning, hooks for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and VS Code; the README marks Device Management as beta.
  • Audit logs correlating MCP, LLM and device activity, exportable.
  • Deployment: self-hosted; Docker quick start in the README.

MCP spec support

Not stated in the README; it says catalogs follow the standard MCP Registry API.

Maturity

Active (release the day of reading, pre-1.0 version number). Device Management beta per README.

Fit and limits (opinion)

Fits organisations wanting one self-hosted place for approved MCP servers, skills, model access and audit. Heavier to run than single-purpose proxies such as MCPJungle or MetaMCP; the pre-1.0 version numbers suggest the API may still change.

Self-learning

Sources

Open items

  • MCP spec revision supported: not stated.
  • Vendor commercial offering / editions: not checked.
  • Docs site URL not independently opened.