Social media API consolidators compared (as of 2026-10-09)
These products give a developer or an AI agent one API, and usually one hosted MCP server, to publish to, schedule on, read from and measure many social networks. They save you from registering and maintaining a separate developer app and OAuth flow per platform. They differ in what they bundle (pure plumbing versus content generation), who holds the platform approvals, how they bill, and whether you can self-host. Related: social-media-management-tools (human-facing schedulers), model-context-protocol, mcp-gateways-compared, n8n, make-dot-com.
Side by side
| Product | Maker | Platforms (as stated) | API and SDKs | MCP | Platform approvals | Pricing model |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| zernio (formerly Late) | Zernio Software SL, Spain; vendor says founded 2025, 9 people, bootstrapped | Homepage names 15 of “17”; the MCP card says “15+” (pages disagree); plus 7 named ad networks | REST with OpenAPI 3.1; official SDKs for Node, Python, Go, Ruby, Java, PHP, .NET and Rust; CLI; webhooks documented | Hosted mcp.zernio.com/mcp; open-source Claude Code plugin | White-label OAuth documented; bring-your-own key for X; per-platform app ownership not stated | Per connected account, first 2 free, lower per-account rates at volume |
| blotato | Sabrina Ramonov (sabrina-ramonov) | 9 (X, LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Bluesky, Pinterest) | REST backend.blotato.com/v2; official n8n and Make nodes; SDKs and webhooks not verified | Hosted mcp.blotato.com/mcp | Not stated | Flat, unlimited posts, 20 accounts to start; vendor says the 7-day trial excludes the API |
| ayrshare | Ayrshare, founded 2020; joined saas.group in October 2025 (vendor) | 14 in the docs (“14+” in marketing) | REST; Node and Python SDKs; webhooks | Hosted api.ayrshare.com/mcp (docs say 33 tools, marketing says 27) | Not stated; X needs a bring-your-own key (details unverified) | Per social profile, tiers Premium to Enterprise |
| postiz | Open-source project (AGPL-3.0) | Docs say 34; table about 35; homepage “30+“ | Public REST; @postiz/node; n8n and Make; CLI | mcp.postiz.com/mcp, 13 tools | Cloud uses Postiz’s own apps; self-hosters register their own | Self-host free; cloud tiers Standard to Ultimate, trial only |
| upload-post | TONVI TECH SL, Spain | 22 | REST; Python and JS SDKs | Open-source MIT MCP server (hosted or local), 40 tools | Vendor says no developer apps needed (vendor claim) | Tiers Free to Business |
| outstand | Not identified | 12 | REST with webhooks | mcp.outstand.so/mcp, 28 tools (vendor: live since March 2026) | Vendor-managed keys for 8 networks; you bring your own for X, Google Business, Vimeo, Reddit | Usage-based; SOC 2 “in progress” (vendor) |
| bundle-social | BUNDLE SP. Z O.O., Poland | 15 | REST with OpenAPI; Node SDK; CLI | Open-source MIT bundlesocial-mcp (via npx) | Not confirmed | Per organisation, Free to Enterprise; X is a prepaid pass-through |
| publer | Not checked | 13 | REST v1, Business and Enterprise plans only; 100 requests per 2 minutes | MCP on the Business plan (announced 2026-09-28) | Not stated | Plan-gated API |
| buffer-api | Buffer | Per Buffer’s channels | GraphQL at api.buffer.com, replacing the legacy REST API | mcp.buffer.com/mcp, plus a CLI | Buffer’s own app; OAuth clients for other Buffer users | Personal API key on Free, Essentials and Team plans; small request caps |
All counts and tool numbers are the vendors’ own; where a vendor’s pages disagree, the product note records both.
What really differs
- Plumbing versus content engine. Zernio, Ayrshare, Upload-Post, Outstand and bundle.social are posting infrastructure. blotato adds content creation (infographics, carousels, avatar video, sourcing from links and documents) and DM automations on Instagram and Facebook, so it is closer to an agent-ready marketing tool.
- Breadth. Platform coverage ranges from 9 (Blotato) to the mid-30s (Postiz). Reddit, WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord and Google Business appear in Zernio and Postiz but not in Blotato’s list. Check your exact platforms and which features (video, stories, DMs, analytics) each supports per platform: coverage is rarely uniform.
- Who owns the platform approvals. The main reason to use a consolidator is avoiding per-platform app review (TikTok, Meta, X). Some vendors state their own approved apps (Postiz cloud); others document white-label OAuth (Zernio); several leave it unstated. Ask before you build on one.
- Self-hosting. Only postiz can be fully self-hosted (and then you register your own developer apps). Everything else is a hosted service.
- MCP. All of them now expose a hosted or local MCP server, with tool counts from 13 (Postiz) to 40 (Upload-Post). Tool count alone says little about quality; none was tested here.
- Pricing shape. Per connected account (Zernio), per profile (Ayrshare), flat (Blotato), per organisation (bundle.social), usage-based (Outstand), seats or tiers (Postiz, Buffer, Publer). Which is cheaper depends on how many accounts you manage and how many posts you send; amounts are on the vendors’ pricing pages and are not recorded here.
- Renames and ownership. Late became Zernio (same API, team and infrastructure per Zernio’s rebrand page; the old domain redirects). Ayrshare joined saas.group in October 2025. Watch for further consolidation.
Choosing (opinion)
- Building a product that posts on behalf of your users, in code: a per-account API such as Zernio, Ayrshare or Upload-Post, with the approval model checked first.
- An agent that also creates the content: Blotato.
- Control and no per-seat vendor lock-in: Postiz, self-hosted.
- Already a Buffer or Publer customer: use their own API, noting the plan and rate-limit constraints.
- Whatever you pick, plan for platform policy changes: these vendors can only expose what each network’s API allows.
Open items
- None of the products was tested; all feature, platform-count, rate-limit and customer figures are vendor statements.
- Outstand’s and Publer’s makers, and who holds the platform approvals for Blotato, Ayrshare and bundle.social, are not confirmed.
- No independent reviews or reliability comparisons were found.
- Pricing amounts are deliberately omitted; see each vendor’s pricing page.
Sources
Each row is sourced in its product note, mainly from the vendors’ own sites, docs, OpenAPI and llms.txt files, legal pages and GitHub, fetched 2026-10-09.