What it is

Evidence is an open-source “business intelligence as code” framework: reports are written in SQL and markdown and rendered as an interactive site (GitHub README, 2026-10-05). It appears aimed at developers and analysts rather than drag-and-drop users (author’s reading). See Open-source BI comparison.

Maker and history

Evidence project (evidence-dev GitHub org); hosted product is Evidence Studio. Homepage lists Internal Analytics, Embedded Analytics and Enterprise (SSO, SCIM, SOC 2, audit logging) offerings and cites 6,832+ GitHub stars, 2,482 Slack members and 33,584 weekly npm installs (vendor figures, snapshot 2026-10-07). Company history and funding: not verified.

Products and editions

  • Evidence Core: MIT-licensed, free, CLI-based, self-hosted static site.
  • Evidence Studio: hosted platform with collaborative editing, AI-assisted report building, access controls, scheduled reports, embedded analytics. Pricing: see vendor site (not fetched).

Data connectivity and modelling

Direct database connectors; SQL queries embedded in markdown; no separate semantic layer was found in the docs read (logic lives in SQL/components).

Deployment

Publish on Evidence Studio, or self-host the generated static site.

AI features as of 2026-10-05

  • Evidence Agent in Evidence Studio for building reports with AI (docs, 2026-10-05; GA/beta status not stated).
  • README positions Evidence as “agent-ready”: develop locally with external tools such as Claude Code or Cursor on the markdown+SQL files.
  • MCP: the evidence.dev homepage (2026-10-07) says its Analytics Agent works across Slack, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT and other MCP clients; the agent is named “Analytics Agent” there and “Evidence Agent” in the docs. GA/beta status not stated.

Strengths and weaknesses (opinion)

  • Strengths: plain markdown+SQL files suit git review and coding agents (the README’s “agent-ready” framing).
  • Weaknesses: likely not self-serve for non-coders; no built-in semantic layer, unlike Lightdash.

Self-learning

Sources

Open items

  • Company/funding, Studio plan names, MCP GA status: unverified. agy-search returned no output (timeouts); verified by WebFetch/curl only.